top of page

Shift Your Focus

I have a friend who recently told me “..the moment it gets difficult or you lose patience or have doubts that is your mind and body telling you to shift focus.” Damn right, she is!


Life hasn’t been easy for me or for anyone in this planet - they don’t make it any easier. Alot of it, from the way I see it, is got to do with being adult which is being responsible, obligations and about making a living. From here, a lot of things went out the window from the way we used to live in the past before we became an “adult”. Fun - out. Being a child - out. Being free to do anything anytime - out. And many more.


At this moment, I am in a recovery mode in my life where I have to pause for my health recovery and damn, everyday it has not been easy. Logically, it may be but my mind makes it hard. And I know I think a lot, many times it is also overthinking. And I know I am not the only one struggling with it. With my mind saying things I gotta do this, I gotta do that, and my heart says just be in the present, do what comes at each moment, let it be, and other people saying things for you to do, after a while it became too much for me. All day I also try to do the same thing for my recovery too, I got fed up and bored after a while. It felt wrong cause I felt that I gotta keep going and be patient, but I couldn’t bring myself to keep doing what I have been doing for the past 2 months daily anymore. like, you feel dead and numb inside.


On one fine day, a long term friend who has not been in contact with me, messaged me and we started talking again. She told me that “..the moment it gets difficult or you lose patience or have doubts that is your mind and body telling you to shift focus.” I was like - Holly Molly! So, I am not being impatient that things are not progressing as fast as I want it to be? Yay! There’s nothing wrong with me!

So, I am not being impatient that things are not progressing as fast as I want it to be? Yay! There’s nothing wrong with me!

That sentence brought me back to my positive self and I started to allow myself to do other things that made me feel more alive. Trying other things and see if they work and fail, is a much better approach than to stay in the same approach hoping it will harvest the way I hope it to be. I realise - yes our emotions is our GPS to tell us where to go and direct our focus and energy to. So not only I am trying new things and being happier - even just a little bit more than before, it also gives me something to hope for, instead of being in that victim hopeless place, trying my best and not seeing the result and feel even more hopeless. Once I tried something new, universe somehow also gives me more new things to try.


My inner critic is the harshest of all, but I am trying everyday to keep it at bay, if I fail I set it aside again and again more than 1,000 times. I even put a little paper to cover the camera on my iPad that says “ Relax” to put that something new to shift my focus. I have to say, it add a little smile on my face and a rainbow on my mind when I see it. I’m doing less of meditation, but focusing on laughing more by watching more comedy movies.

This what works for me. It will not work for everybody because we are all different, but you can try to see if it works if you feel it resonates with you. Theres is no right or wrong way to make things better, only what suits you and what works for you.

Shifting focus what gave me the revelation. I hope you will find yours too soon.






bottom of page